WIP

20140303-202007.jpg

My waves are progressing nicely.

I can’t remember the last time I made an “all in one” blanket rather than one made of lots of motifs and it’s surprisingly satisfying to see it growing row by row.

For the first half dozen rows it was doing that really annoying twisty thing that I usually associate with knitting but now it’s sitting in lovely flat wavy rows.

I haven’t really planned a colour scheme. I’m just planning on diddling row after row with each new colour interlocking with the last.

When I did my foundation chain I used a size four hook (mainly because it was the one that was out) but when I started the first row I didn’t like the looseness of the stitches – the dtc seemed too floppy and happy so I frogged the first row but not the chain and tried a 3.5 hook.
It looked much better, tighter and neater.

I’ve probably blogged about this before but I much prefer a smaller hook. It takes me a long time to get to grips with a size four hook.

Recently I’ve been contemplating making a blanket out of Arran weight wool but I wonder if I could cope with a size five hook.

20140303-202101.jpg

2 thoughts on “WIP

  1. It’s looking good. What pattern are you using? I did a trial square for Big J’s blanket last night… Attic24’s interlocking ripple… It’s looking good. An all in one blanket is a first for me but I prefer a smaller hook size too…. Usually a 3 for DK yarn…. Think my tension is loose.

Leave a Reply

