Scones

I always read about scones as being easy to make. For years I tried and mine weren’t even mediocre. They were edible, but not enjoyable.

I could bake a mean Victoria Sandwich and a delicious Cherry and Almond cake but the perfect scone eluded me.

My Auntie Vera made the best scones I have ever tasted.
Light, tasty, not too sweet. Just delicious.

A few years ago she kindly shared her recipe with me and ever since then mine have been good (as oppose to dense and chewy or fodder for the bird table).

I follow her recipe and instructions to the letter (using my dog-eared, stained book where I originally wrote it down) and they’re always successful.

In our house the ultimate accolade from MrAB is “as good as Vera’s scones”

Yesterday I baked and fortunately they passed the test.

scones

 

 

Leave a Reply

