… A Small Aubergine

Years ago on ‘Goodness Gracious Me’ there was a character who would always claim she could make anything at all with ‘…a small aubergine’

I planted my aubergine seeds today and in hope and expectation thought I should try cooking with some (I was unable to say ‘here’s one I made earlier’, so these were the supermarket’s finest)

Gently soften onions, garlic, mushrooms and one deseeded  pepper in some butter

P781
P779

Add a tub of passata and some fresh basil.

Season with pepper, bring to the boil.

P780

Put the pan (with a lid on)  into the simmering oven until you are ready to assemble the aubergine dish (I put mine in the oven at about 10am – we ate at 7.45pm)

P777

Slice your aubergines – gently brown them in a frying pan with a little olive oil. and a little dried oregano

I also added courgettes because I had some that needed using up.

Layer the aubergines, courgettes and tomato sauce. Sprinkle each layer with parmesan

P782

Top with parmesan and bake for about 45 minutes

Serve with pasta

P778

I think next time I will add more chilli and maybe eat it with crusty bread instead of pasta

Leave a Reply

