Brace Yourself

An early start this mroning with a trip to the orthodontist.

P162

In the waiting room I was pleased and surprised to see other middle aged people, until I realised that they were waiting for their teenage children.

The brace fitting was unpleasant, but not as bad as I had imagined it would be. The worst bit was having the moulds taken.

I was feeling quite upbeat until I went to have some photographs taken in the medical images department.

It was worse than having the brace fitted!  Mouth clamps and mirrors and a very grumpy photographer.

Absolute agony.

I came out looking (and feeling) as if I had been punched in the mouth.

P166

My mouth feels huge now and eating is interesting. I have to go back again on Wednesday.

 

I used the journey to make some more centres for my FIS blanket.
I’ve been trying to work out how much yarn I will need. I’m planning on making it 15 x 15 squares. That should give me a finished blanket of about 38″

I need to make 177 squares with a flower centre and 48 plain cream squares.

I weighed some completed squares and I think that in total I will need 21 balls. I would like to do one cream row so I will need more cream than anything else.

At the moment I have 13 colours with 3 more on order and 10 balls of cream so that should be enough – I’m just not sure if I have the cream/colour ration correct.

Time will tell – and I can always order nore if I need to!

I also have a couple of neutral colour balls (a grey and an oatmeal) which I may use in the border.

All of a sudden I have lots of blanket ideas rattling around in my head. I’m thinking about large granny stripe squares pieced together in a horizontal/vertical pattern.

I’ve also realised I can make the hexagon blanket for someone else. That way I can enjoy making it but I won’t have to live with it. I still have a huge bag of Stylecraft left which I can use.

 

Anyway, I’m going to add the pattern because I have adapted it from the original design and I want to write it down so that if I abandon it for a while I can use it for reference when I go back to it.

I’m using a size 3 crochet hook

Chain 4 and join with a slip stitch.

Round One is 6 cluster stitches. The first one is a treble and a double cluster (Yarn over hook , insert hook into ring,yarn over and pull up loop (3 loops on hook), Yarn over and pull through 2 loops ( 2 loops on hook ), Yarn over , insert hook into ring, yarn over and pull up a loop ( 4 loops on hook)Yarn over and pull through 2 loops (3 loops on hook) Yarn over and pull through all 3 loops

Chain 3

Yarn over, insert hook into ring, yarn over,pull up a loop( 3 loops on hook) Yarn over and pull through 2 loops (2 loops on hook) Yarn over and Insert hook into ring for second time, yarn over and pull up loop ( 4 loops on hook ) Yarn over and pull through 2 loops ( 3 loops on hook )Yarn over and Insert hook into ring for a third time, yarn over and pull up a loop ( 5 loops on hook ) yarn over and pull through 2 loops ( 4 loops on hook)Yarn over and pull through all 4 loops

That sounds complicated, but it is just like doing 3 partial trebles.

You end up with something that looks like a little 6 pointed star

P165

Round Two

Join the second colour to one of the three chain spaces. .

Chain 3 then do three trebles into the same space

Chain 1 then treble 4 trebles into the next chain space all the way round. Join to the top of the first 3 chain with a slip stitch

P167

You will end up with 6 sets of 4 trebles with a chain stitch between each set of 4.

P168

Join colour 3 to a chain space.

Chain three – treble 2 into the chain space.

Into the middle space of the next set of four trebles four treble three.

Continue with this all the way round – you will end up with12 sets of three trebles.

The centre of your square is now finished.

P163

P164
P169

Leave a Reply

